View Full Version : Error with ATI Driver
Templare
09-15-2007, 12:28 PM
Hi..
I have an error when I click to the "Login" button.
This is the message of the error:
"Unsupported video card!
There are three possible causes for this error:
1. Your video card is too old
2. You haven't installed the latest available drivers
3. You haven't installed the latest DirectX version"
I have an ATI Radeon 7000/VE.
Can anyone help me?
Myxir
09-15-2007, 01:04 PM
What is your installed driver?
glxinfo | grep version
should give you the answer.
Try
glxinfo | grep direct
in the terminal to check if you have 3D Support.
Your card seems a bit old so I guess you have to use the "radeon" driver.
Correct me if I'm wrong.
arlick
09-15-2007, 01:18 PM
where do u download the drivers? did u download any drivers for the graphic card?
in the ati page they dont have any driver for this card, i dont see it
i think like Myxir
Templare
09-16-2007, 12:00 PM
the command "glxinfo | grep version" give me this response:
"server glx version string: 1.2
client glx version string: 1.4
GLX version: 1.2
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 6.5.2"
and the command "glxinfo | grep direct" this:
"direct rendering: Yes"
I use kubuntu 7.04 and i never download the driver for the graphics card.
arlick
09-16-2007, 01:09 PM
well... u should have 3d acceleration, but not sufficient (because your opengl version).
u could try to install mesa 7.0, but in ati page they dont have drivers for your card
Templare
09-16-2007, 06:39 PM
and how i can install this mesa 7.0??
sorry but i'm very noob about linux...
DuoMaxwell
09-17-2007, 07:33 AM
The Radeon 7000 is an R100 series card http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_R100
The standard x.org drivers cover it, the card tho is quite slow and very old by todays standards, the card itself only supports OpenGL 1.2 if I remember right, Regnum requires a card that is RV200 based or better, but the linux client runs best on a card that supports OpenGL 2.0. http://www.regnumonline.com.ar/index.php?l=1&sec=13
Even if you can manage to get the game to launch fully you may not be able to actually play it.
See if you can sell it to a Mac user that needs a spare card to mod to a Mac edition.
Depending on the age of your machine yo can upgrade just the card, but if your machine is too old it may be about the same cost to just upgrade to a current lower end machine that'll still out preform your current machine.
For upgrades judging by the only hardware I know is in the machine I can see that it's stuff from around 6-7 years ago, http://ati.amd.com/products/radeon7000/radeon7000/index.html
Now this machine, does it have an AGP 4x slot and a 300 watt power supply? If so you have some decent options, if not then you are likely stuck with only PCI slots and the only "decent" nvidia card there is the 6200, which runs a bit too exspensive for how slow it is but it does have decent current linux drivers, for ATI theres the x1300 and x1550 pci, tho you should avoid the 64 bit versions at all costs, the wider 128 bit memory path versions will be concideralby faster in direct comparasin. I found an x1550 128 bit edition from diamond for $95, not too bad for pci, but the current linx drivers are lacking, AMD has released ch of the specs for the ATI cards recently, but it will take some time for newer, better drivers to be written from the hundreds of pages of docmentation.
Now if yo have an AGP slot the nvidia 7600GT is the best card for the mony there, thers faster cards from both nvidia and ati, but with the age of the rest of the computer would be a limiting factor for the cards faster then it, now tho for ATI you have the option of an OpenGL 3.0 card once OpenGL is released next year in the HD series cards, the HD2600 Pro should be around as fast as the nvidia 7600 GS, the slower GDDR2 version of the 7600GT, the HD2600XT is a bit faster, but is slower then the 7600GT and still has those current driver issues, tho they are getting better.
The 7x00 and x1x00 series cards are all OpenGL2.0 cards, the HD and 8x00 are all OpenGL2.0 cards as well as supporting DirectX 3D10 and are already compliant with the release of OpenGL3.0.
I left out the ATI x1x00 series AGP cards even tho some of them are faster for the money then the HD series cards for 2 reasons:
1.) any of the cards I mentiond are far more powerful then your current card
2.) if your system is as old as your card then you really don't want to drop too much more cash into it seeing as building a brand new machine with faster parts all around will speed up everything else as well.
Now prices at my usual shop put the 7600GT at $130($110 after mail in rebate) from XFX. The HD2600 Pro is $139($109 after $30 mail in rebate) and the faster HD2600XT is $170, a bit overpriced concidering it's slower then the 7600GT. You can see here how fast the cards are in games, I'd go by Doom 3 as the benchmark as it's one of the few games thats got a native linux client http://www23.tomshardware.com/graphics_2007.html?modelx=33&model1=858&model2=716&chart=285
Hope it's not too confusing lol.
So whats the rest of the hardware?
Hello, I just switched from Windows to Kubuntu and have same problem with Regnum. When I launch game, it says:
"Unsupported video card!
There are three possible causes for this error:
1. Your video card is too old
2. You haven't installed the latest available drivers
3. You haven't installed the latest DirectX version"
I have Ati 9250.
I also tried Nessa's commands to input and got same message:
server glx version string: 1.2
client glx version string: 1.4
GLX version: 1.2
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 6.5.2
direct rendering: Yes
What should I do now?
toxigenicpoem
09-20-2007, 03:02 AM
Well, you have three options.
1) Get a newer Video card supported by ATI
2) Wait until someone releases mesa3D 7.0.1 .deb file
3) Learn some dirty gritty good ol' Linux stuff, and compile Mesa 7.0.1 for your self.
source and directions at http://www.mesa3d.org/
Templare
09-20-2007, 09:21 AM
damn... i don't want to upgrade my computer because i take it only for use linux...
well i'm thinking to upgrade hardware and i try to take an old graphic card...
thank you!!!
DuoMaxwell
09-20-2007, 10:59 AM
Thats the way things go, especially for games, many new hardware featres are added over the years, parts get much faster with every new generation as well.
Look at it this way tho, if you pt a decent more current graphics card in your box and install a 3D window manager like Compiz or Beryl that offloads all of the stuff on screen to the graphics chip instead of doing much of it on the CPU you will add a bit more responsiveness to everything that your compter does.
Graphics cards are for allot more then gaming these days, the most recent ones also have video processing codecs hard coded into the card allowing even the most demanding super high qality videos to play on your computer without skipping.
This can be seen easily with a 1080i or better video from a site like http://www.apple.com/trailers/
Some ppl think that 1920x1080 video is a bit excessive, but if you get a decent HD LCD or plasma screen TV that is really an HD screen thats the native resolution, and most of these tvs have a DVI jack so you can conect your computer to it, that or they always have an HDMI jack and you can just pick up a DVI to HDMI adaptor.
Theres also that 24" and 27" 1920x1200 LCD sceens are becomming more and more common, these like those TVs require a bit of oomph from your comp to run at their native resoltion.
30" LCD monitors are even more demmanding comming in at 2560x1600 resolution are real monsters for your computer to handle unless you have a serious graphics card.
I'd personally love to have an 8800GTX graphics card pushing a nice 46" LCD tv haning from my wall, could use the comp sitting in a nice comphy chair lol.
I compiled Mesa and its all ok, but Regnum still doesnt work.
DuoMaxwell
09-21-2007, 10:44 AM
This is because the card doesn't support the needed versions of OpenGL, it may have worked on Windows because the DirectX renderer version the card supported was enough to run the game.
It's a sad fact tho, your computer cannot last you forever if you want to use the latest and greatest stuff.
If you feel that you can't afford a new comp to play a game then look into getting jst a newer, faster graphics card. If you'd rather just upgrade to a brand new machine then go for it, get one with a good card built in now that'll last some time over what many have which is the bottom of the line of the cards when they where released.
Right now I'm debating on should I spend $300 now or not to buy a new mobo, cpu, ram and graphics card to replace my fried comp or should I wait till december on this old comp to see what happens with the release of the AMD quad core CPUs, the new ATI drivers and if Nvidia is going to be releasing the 9x00 series cards or if ATI will release a new upper mid range card or push down the price of the HD 2900XT with the release of a faster card.
Omg omg all same... Buy this new buy that new, buy Nvidia etc...
First, I bought this machine 2006, so no need to upgrade anything.
Second, this machine is fast enough and well equipped.
Third, my graphic card can do all I wanted to do, and to support all games I wanted perfectly. Its gamer edition, and is quite ok.
And I didnt ask for Nvidia advices, nor how much does card with xyz name cost, cause I wont switch smthg that WORKS, I asked if any knows what is the problem in Linux, and is there a way to fix it. I wanted to start using Linux, and delete Windows. All works, CompizFusion, have 3d, have now Mesa 7.0.1, all works great with my card and didnt have problems with it except with Regnum. I just want to know if I can somehow FIX problem i have ONLY with Regnum.
thx
DuoMaxwell
09-21-2007, 11:31 AM
So if you install the doom3 or quake 4 demos on your machine do they run?
If you wonder why I keep recomending you go with nvidia if you absolutly have to play this game under linux it because their drivers are there, ATI's drivers have been getting better, but they're still a long way off.
The other reason is when I keep seeing ppl for any game, not just regnum whine about how they can't play the game they want with their 5 year old bottom of the line when it was new card. It's just simply not going to happen with what they may have.
You state the machine is a year old, so what's your card model then?
And yes, I can get compiz/beryl runnnig on a P2 450Mhz 128Mb PC100 and an ATI Radeon 7000 just fine, but would I use it for anything more then web browsing? Nope, I'd rather take the old clunker and pull the video card and add in a few NICs or an SATA RAID controller to turn it into a firewall/router or NAS server then to use it as a desktop machine.
Quake 4 works, didnt try Doom 3
Card model is: ASUS A9250GE/TD/256MB ATI Radeon 9250, 8xAGP
surak
09-21-2007, 02:38 PM
Regnum depends on this extensions:
GL_ARB_texture_compression, GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
I know s3tc compression need to be enabled in driconf (or something like that, don't have an ati card to test it)
I installed DRIconf, but when I start it, it says:
Could not detect any configurable direct-rendering capable devices. DRIconf will be started in expert mode.
And then it opens window with 2 files listed from left side. Thats it. In console it says:
Driver "r200" is not installed or does not support configuration.
Do u know how I can do it since I dont have options in DRIconf or how I can fix that can DRIconf works normally?
ty
I fixed problem, Regnum works with ATI and with older cards.
At least, is working with ATI 9250 :clapclap:
So, no one need to buy new card, u just need to try to solve problem. ;)
I installed Mesa 7.0.1 and in DRIconf enabled s3tc compression, installed Regnum and it works at last :)
Thx a lot for help Ubuntu Srbija :metal:
Just not to type same, follow link if u have graphic problems after installing mesa/driconf
http://www.regnumonline.com.ar/forum/showpost.php?p=169851&postcount=3
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.