PDA

View Full Version : [ SOLVED ] Workaround for SEGFAULT issue


onemyndseye
05-14-2009, 10:41 AM
Here you will find a work around for the issue found in this thread:
http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36774
http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41714

UPDATE [05/15/2009]: Script and HOWTO solve the issue of RO running as root
UPDATE [05/16/2009]: Script and HOWTO with some minor code improvements
UPDATE [05/18/2009]: Script and HOWTO updated to solve an issue that can cause the internet connection inside the chroot to stop working.

UPDATE [05/18/2009]: Spainish/English support has been added. Chroot locale will match your system.
UPDATE [05/22/2009]: Proper Spanish translations added to script
UPDATE [08/04/2009]: New Download location.
UPDATE [10/20/2009]: Issue fixed by Arafails and hopefully soon NGD *** THIS METHOD IS OBSOLETE ****


************ NOTICE: THIS METHOD IS OBSOLETE ********************
Please see this thread for a more solid fix: http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50234
************************************************** ****************

First of all -- AFAIK this fix works on Ubuntu Jaunty or similar version distros of Linux. This means:

Xorg 7.4
Mesa 7.4
Kernel 2.6.28


The basic method is to create a chroot using debootstrap and configure it for running X apps under your current Xserver/desktop. There is a good guide for this here: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DebootstrapChroot

At the end of this post youll find a script to take care of the work for you...

You need to have RO installed to ~/regnum before starting

From now on assume we are working as root... First we need to install a couple needed packages. debootstrap and libtxc-dxtn which I will assume you need since you are reading this ;)

sudo su

apt-get install debootstrap
wget http://debian-multimedia.org/pool/main/libt/libtxc-dxtn/libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb
dpkg -i libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb
rm -f libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb




To build your chroot we will assume you wish to put it in /opt/hardy-chroot


mkdir -p /opt/hardy-chroot
debootstrap --variant=buildd hardy /opt/hardy-chroot http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/

mkdir -p /opt/hardy-chroot/var/run/dbus
mkdir -p /opt/hardy-chroot/lib/modules
mkdir -p /opt/hardy-chroot/home
mkdir -p /opt/hardy-chroot/host-etc




Replace the contents of /opt/hardy-chroot/etc/apt/sources.list
with the following lines: (hint: pico /opt/hardy-chroot/etc/apt/sources.list)

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy main restricted
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates main restricted
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy universe
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates universe
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy multiverse
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-updates multiverse
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu hardy partner
deb-src http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu hardy partner
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security main restricted
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security main restricted
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security universe
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security universe
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security multiverse
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security multiverse



These lines should be added to your /etc/fstab

/proc /opt/hardy-chroot/proc none rbind 0 0
/dev /opt/hardy-chroot/dev none rbind 0 0
/sys /opt/hardy-chroot/sys none rbind 0 0
/tmp /opt/hardy-chroot/tmp none rbind 0 0
/home /opt/hardy-chroot/home none rbind 0 0
/etc /opt/hardy-chroot/host-etc none rbind 0 0
/lib/modules /opt/hardy-chroot/lib/modules none rbind 0 0
/var/run/dbus /opt/hardy-chroot/var/run/dbus none rbind 0 0



Then issue the follow command to mount the needed file systems and enter the
chroot


mount -a
chroot /opt/hardy-chroot




Once here we need to install the needed packages to properly configure the
system and to run RO


rm /etc/resolv.conf
ln -s /host-etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf

export LANG=C
apt-get update
apt-get --yes --force-yes --no-install-recommends install wget debconf devscripts gnupg nano
apt-get update
apt-get --yes --force-yes install language-pack-en
apt-get --yes --force-yes install xorg libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx libglu1-mesa mesa-utils libglib2.0-0 libgtk2.0-0 libxt6 libopenal0a


wget http://debian-multimedia.org/pool/main/libt/libtxc-dxtn/libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb
dpkg -i libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb
rm -f libtxc-dxtn0_0.070518-0.1_i386.deb

apt-get clean

rm /etc/hostname
rm /etc/group
rm /etc/passwd
rm /etc/shadow
rm /etc/gshadow
ln -s /host-etc/hosts /etc/hosts
ln -s /host-etc/hostname /etc/hostname
ln -s /host-etc/group /etc/group
ln -s /host-etc/passwd /etc/passwd
ln -s /host-etc/shadow /etc/shadow
ln -s /host-etc/gshadow /etc/gshadow

mkdir -p /etc/default
rm /etc/default/locale
ln -s /host-etc/default/locale /etc/default/locale

exit



Leave the current root session:

exit


** NOTE: You should no longer be working as root **



You now must create 2 helper scripts for launching RO:

~/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh

!/bin/bash
##
##
### DO NOT RUN THIS SCRIPT DIRECTLY. It should be called by regnum-online.sh

# accept the running user as a arg passed from regnum-online.sh
USER=$1

## Function to wait until RO was exited
wait_game() {

RO_EXIT="0"
while [ $RO_EXIT = "0" ]
do
TMP1=$(ps -U $USER |grep game |grep -v grep |awk '{print $1}')
if [ -z "$TMP1" ]; then
RO_EXIT=1
fi
sleep 0.5
done

}


### Setup the env and start launcher
cd /home/$USER/regnum
export MALLOC_CHECK_=1
su $USER -c ./rolauncher


## Wait for main process to exit. Use a loop to get this done
#
sleep 2
wait_game




~/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh

#!/bin/bash

sudo chroot /opt/hardy-chroot /home/$USER/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh $USER

exit 0


Now finally set the 2 scripts as executable:

chmod +x ~/chrooted_ro.sh
chmod +x ~/regnum-online.sh


Thankfully I have created a script to do all this for you ;) Find it here:
***** DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED - THIS METHOD IS OBSOLETE *****

*** UPDATE: Spainish/English locale support added to script. Language is detected from the host system and may be overridden by the --lang argument.. in which case you will be prompted. Example:

onemyndseye@onemyndsmobile ~ $ ./build-ro-bottle.sh --lang


1. English
2. Enspanol
English or Espanol?:



This script handles everything above including building the scripts to launch RO. The only this I left out of the script is to edit your /etc/sudoers file to allow you to skip entering your password....

To do this... edit your sudoers file with the command: sudo pico /etc/sudoers
Add the following line


<YOUR USER NAME> ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/chroot



Example:

onemyndseye ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/chroot


Now you may launch RO with the following command: ~/regnum/regnum-online.sh

**** IMPORTANT: If you wish to delete the files in /opt/hardy-chroot YOU MUST remove the related lines from /etc/fstab first THEN REBOOT YOUR PC... failure to do this WILL trash your linux install

This method and script should be considered a rough draft so expect it to evolve and improve over time... also note that it may break without warning and RO cease to function -- we will just have to cross that hurdle when we get there

Once again the link for the script: ***** DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED - THIS METHOD IS OBSOLETE *****

Nightchill
05-14-2009, 12:32 PM
all good, but running regnum as root user?

anyway i'll try it on my arch boot (obviously some modifications will be needed) when i get the time.

onemyndseye
05-14-2009, 01:22 PM
yup... like or leave it ;)

you cannot chroot without privledge. The only positve note is that you are running in a fake root


Later revisions will use schroot to solve your complaint but that will require extra setup.. and I'm working as fast as I can :/

Please refer to this thread: http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41714
to help me refine my methods saving this thread for a more HOWTO basis

imefisto_foro
05-14-2009, 06:21 PM
Congratulations. A lot of people did have the same problem.

Many of them play regnum using wine. I am sure they will want try your idea.

Can I translate your solution and post it in the spanish forum?

onemyndseye
05-14-2009, 06:53 PM
Congratulations. A lot of people did have the same problem.

Many of them play regnum using wine. I am sure they will want try your idea.

Can I translate your solution and post it in the spanish forum?


Thank you :)

And ... certainly!! Please do.. I was about to make a post asking for someone to do so.

imefisto_foro
05-14-2009, 07:49 PM
Thank you :)

And ... certainly!! Please do.. I was about to make a post asking for someone to do so.

Done. Here is the spanish version (http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41869)

onemyndseye
05-15-2009, 04:02 PM
*** UPDATE - Method: Changed the method so that runing as root no longer needed

*** UPDATE - Script: New version of script uploaded


imefisto: Please update the spainish version

Nightchill
05-15-2009, 07:25 PM
you should probably put it on wiki as well^^

onemyndseye
05-16-2009, 03:54 PM
*** UPDATED: Script and HOWTO with some minor code improvements

imefisto_foro
05-17-2009, 11:30 PM
hello. I've back! Tomorrow I'll update the spanish version.

Thanks!

onemyndseye
05-18-2009, 07:07 AM
*** UPDATED:

Both the script and HOWTO with some code improvements and to solve an issue that can cause the chroot to no longer have an internet connection should /etc/resolv.conf need updating. Also linked chroot locale to that of the host system.

Added (probably really crappy) spainish translations to the script. Spainish/English is detected (hopefully) from the host systems locale config. This detection may be skipped in by adding the --lang argument (example: ./build-ro-bottle.sh --lang) in which case you will be prompted.

jojoba
05-20-2009, 07:27 AM
I run Arch and I segfault:

OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) 945GM 20090418 2009Q1 x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 1.4 Mesa 7.4.2

with a backtrace:

libs/libcore_client.so(_ZN10ClientBase14save_backtraceE v+0x79) [0xb7ea7259]
libs/libcore_client.so(_ZN10ClientBase12client_crashEi+ 0x1b) [0xb7ea752b]
[0xb80a1400]
/usr/lib/libGL.so.1 [0xb6fb2496]
libs/libopengl_api.so(_ZN8Engine3D12RenderizerGL20init_ graphics_systemEiiibb+0xc26) [0xb78125b6]
libs/libcommon_entities.so(_ZN13DisplayEntity15creation _notifyEP7Message+0x4bc) [0xb7d107ac]
libs/libentity_system.so(_ZN13EntityManager32initialize _entity_as_custom_typeEPKciS1_P7MessageP6Entity+0x 483) [0xb7686b43]
libs/libregnum_client.so(_ZN10GameClient19initialize_en titiesEv+0x2af) [0xb802d48f]
libs/libregnum_client.so(_ZN10GameClient4initEiPPc+0x87 6) [0xb8030606]
libs/libregnum_client.so(_ZN10GameClientC1EiPPc+0xf3) [0xb8031553]
./game(main+0x259) [0x8048fc9]
/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe6) [0xb70f96b6]
./game(__gxx_personality_v0+0x61) [0x8048c71]

I have tried the MALLOC with 1 and 0 with no luck

i have libxtc, running the intel legacy drivers, game runs fine* under WINE but would like to run it natively, this is the most thorough thread, hope some one can help.

onemyndseye
05-20-2009, 10:10 AM
This fix will work for arch as well.... but the method is slightly different. Nightchill can help you with this

Most of the method should work... but youll need archbootstrap instead of debootstrap


This may help you a bit: http://wiki.antlinux.com/pmwiki.php?n=HowTos.DebootStrap

Also here: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=16283

If you can get debootstrap into your system then the rest should be pretty near my directions.... although my script will not work

Nightchill
05-20-2009, 10:52 PM
i'm still waiting for a good and updated bootstrap for archlinux, and i think i have found it finally, the latest archboot. you can find i686 version here (http://www.archlinux.org/packages/testing/i686/archboot/), and x86_64 version here (http://www.archlinux.org/packages/testing/x86_64/archboot/). There is still no wiki entry on that one, but i'll try to dig up some good forum threads on it. In any case, i should have the solution by the end of this week (hopefully, i'd do it sooner but i have a lot of college obligations). If you want we can work on this together, you can find me on freenode #archlinux, or on quakenet #regnum-online, on both servers I'm called Nightchill. Just drop me a PRIVMSG and i'll reply as soon as i see it. or in some other case, you can always add me on msn, optik at live dot com.

as for archboot, i'm not suggesting you download the tarballs from those links, instead do
pacman -S archboot

note that you will have to enable testing repos in /etc/pacman.conf. do this to enable them:
nano /etc/pacman.conf
then add/uncomment following lines:
[testing]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

imefisto_foro
05-22-2009, 09:22 PM
Update Translated. LINK (http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?p=701433#post701433)

onemyndseye
05-22-2009, 11:38 PM
Updated: Proper spainish translations into the script. Thanks goes to Zaul

thanks for the update imefisto

DkySven
05-23-2009, 11:03 AM
when running apt-get update I get error messages, that it can't retrieve the packages, both with the script and with manual copy-pasting the commands.

onemyndseye
05-23-2009, 02:54 PM
whats the error messages Dky?

If its lke this (error from a different distro)


Err http://archive.ubuntu.com jaunty Release.gpg
Could not resolve 'archive.ubuntu.com'




Then enter the chroot and check internet connection by pinging a host. Also check /etc/resolv.conf with:

sudo chroot /opt/hardy-chroot
ping www.google.com
ls -l /etc/resolv.conf
cat /etc/resolv.conf
exit



Please post the error message here.. also the output of the commands above as well as the following command (outside the chroot):


mount




Thanks,

DkySven
05-23-2009, 04:42 PM
Thanks you for your reply.

I just ran the script again, so I could get the error-message again, but now atp is done downloading and now busy installing. XD Looks like my internet-connection gave trouble.
[edit]Now the terminal closed, is that normal? I didn't see what happened.

onemyndseye
05-23-2009, 07:52 PM
no.. not at all :(

Check to see if you have these scripts in your regnum directory: chrooted_ro.sh and regnum-online.sh.

If so its likely that the process completed. Did you run it from a terminal window? or execute it by double clicking it from nautilus or from the run dialog (ALT+F2) ?? if so its likely that the terminal simply closed once the process was over

Next update maybe I should put in a pause at the end so you must close it manually.

Also which Distro and version are you running?

DkySven
05-24-2009, 09:41 AM
I ran the script from Nautilus, after giving it permission to run. My system is Ubuntu 9.04. Now I noticed that the scripts were placed in my regnum map in my home directory. I can play Regnum in safe mode, only some windows at the background flash through it, which is Compiz i guess. Thanks for this howto. I do have graphical glitches, but I do remind some post here about that, so I'll look into that.

onemyndseye
05-24-2009, 04:14 PM
Now edit your /etc/sudoers as per the last part of the howto (if you havnt already) and you can run RO with ~/regnum/regnum-online.sh. Safemode shouldnt be needed (in theory)

I had some graphics glickes myself until I disabled Compiz and enabled Gnome's compositing feature. Do this by using gconf-editor go to: Apps ==> Metacity ==> General And check the box that says "compositing_manager" ... although as you stated background windows do show through sometimes. I just try to keep everything minimized.



.....Thanks for this howto....


Very welcome -- this howto came from necessity as much as a willingness to help ;)

Timvarazslo
06-08-2009, 09:54 PM
gentoo user here...
of course segfaulting:tsk_tsk:
guess i'll give a try of this chrooting thing... but first i have to dig into the problem
then i will post my stupid questions:)

Timvarazslo
06-10-2009, 10:21 PM
ok i have a base sysem installed...
my question is, when you install packages into the chrooted system (for example xorg) which version does hardy install? (i think xorg 1.4.2 should be fine)
another question: which version of kernel should i use?

thanks in advance

Timvarazslo
06-11-2009, 09:59 AM
xorg 1.4.2 won't compile
i think it's the same crash as it was in my host system, when i tried to downgrade
it seems building a base system was useless:dumbofme:

edit:
maybe i missed something, so back to work:)

Nightchill
06-11-2009, 11:06 AM
well, links i posted below this text are arch extra and core repository from 19-3-2009. it's pkg.tar.gz, maybe you can make something of it on gentoo, if nothing at least you will know to compare versions of kernel + xorg + catalyst.
http://arm.kh.nu/core::2009-3-19/os/i686/
http://arm.kh.nu/extra::2009-3-19/os/i686/

Timvarazslo
06-11-2009, 03:14 PM
thanks Nightchill, maybe i'll try that later

i've found a backup of my system from last autumn in my drawer
so i can now chroot in that backup but it says
"Error: unable to initialize gtk, is DISPLAY set properly?"
i've tried to set $DISPLAY by hand, but no luck
do you start the regnum-online.sh script from a runnig session?

by the way: where have you all gone?:)

Timvarazslo
06-11-2009, 05:21 PM
:imstupid:
i give up, i'm really disappointed, i've managed to run the game in the chrooted env. and it's segfaulting with the same log
i tried to start an X session from the chrooted env, but i couldn't get through the "your card is too old " problem
no, i think it was "your card is not supported"

"The basic method is to create a chroot using debootstrap and configure it for running X apps under your current Xserver/desktop" - onemyndseye
running in the hosts xserver? then what's the point in chrooting?

please help! i don't even want it to work (i'm fed up), i just want to understand it...

Nightchill
06-12-2009, 11:35 AM
well, what does glxinfo | grep direct say?

Timvarazslo
06-12-2009, 10:48 PM
direct rendering is working
i've istalled the libtcx stuff, but i have the "video card is too old" problem
i tried driconf but it has some problem with gtk

Mandala13
06-13-2009, 05:27 AM
Hi! Done everything that you said in this post and it helped me a lot for, finally, opening a Launcher and actually entering the game. For the first time of using RO in this computer, I even watch the video (in Hardy, there was no video at all). But here's the problem.

An image is worth one thousand words, right? This is how I see the game, with or without Compiz. Everything deactivated and even tried safe mode, but it was the same. Any ideas?

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/4232/screenshot2009061304495.jpg

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/7812/screenshot2009061304505.jpg

http://img190.imageshack.us/content.php?page=done&l=img190/8835/screenshot2009061304511.jpg

onemyndseye
06-20-2009, 08:11 PM
try this...

Turn off Compiz then issue this command in a terminal before starting RO:


gconftool --toggle /apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager




I get graphic problems with my install if I do not have Gnomes Composite engine running... Compiz is RIGHT OUT. lol..

I added the above toggle to my regnum-online.sh alone with some other tweaks.

My regnum-online.sh commented for clarity.

#!/bin/bash

## This stores the video mode of my current desktop so it may be recalled later
## since RO doesnt resize the screen for me on exit.
OLD_VIDMODE="$(xrandr |grep "Screen 0" | awk '{print $8 $9 $10}' |sed '{s|,||}')"


### This stores the default memory and clock speed of my Radeon 9000
### So it may be overclocked then returned to default values.
### (Note that I have NOPASSWD access to rovclock set in /etc/sudoers)
ATI_OLD_CORE=$(sudo rovclock -i |grep Core: |awk '{print $2}')
ATI_OLD_MEMO=$(sudo rovclock -i |grep Core: |awk '{print $5}')


### Turns ON the Gnome Compiste Engine
gconftool --toggle /apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager

### Overclock my Radeon to values that are known to work for ME
sudo rovclock -c 305 -m 250


### Start Chrooted RO session
sudo chroot /opt/hardy-chroot /home/$USER/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh $USER


## Clean up and revert to old vidmode
##
# Turn off Gnome Composite
gconftool --toggle /apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager

## Makes sure previous desktop mode is set
xrandr -s "$OLD_VIDMOD"

## Return Radeon to default Clock speeds to save heat and power
sudo rovclock -c $ATI_OLD_CORE -m $ATI_OLD_MEMO


exit 0




Report back please, thanks

roxthiaguin
06-22-2009, 02:49 AM
Hey folks,

I did the tutorial, it`s working now!
but..when RO starts, it starts flipping the page, like a "poor refresh". There is no way to play with that! Can anyone help me solve that?

I`m using Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty
My card is an ATI Mobility X1400

roxthiaguin
06-23-2009, 05:27 AM
On hardy, the official driver fglrx worked with my card.

I`m worried about doing something bad...
to solve my issues...if I try on chrooted to install via apt-get the fglrx drivers, would it solve my issues? would it mess something? if someone can give me a hint (I really don`t know too much how does chrooted works)

Nightchill
06-23-2009, 11:29 AM
holas, i get the error:
/home/night/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh: 1: !/bin/bash: not found
/home/night/regnum/chrooted_ro.sh: 5: regnum-online.sh: not found
malloc: using debugging hooks
./rolauncher: error while loading shared libraries: libgthread-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
malloc: using debugging hooks

linearguild
06-23-2009, 12:42 PM
I think the first line is missing # before !, and the second script in the post should be named regnum-online.sh.

linearguild
06-23-2009, 01:20 PM
Hey folks,

I did the tutorial, it`s working now!
but..when RO starts, it starts flipping the page, like a "poor refresh". There is no way to play with that! Can anyone help me solve that?

I`m using Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty
My card is an ATI Mobility X1400

This sounds like what I get with fglrx combined with 2.6.29 or newer kernel. To make a long story short, ATI binary drivers are broken with these recent kernels, and all the patches I've seen to force it working are dirty hacks that will not give you a completely working driver. For everyday applications the result could be fine, but things start to go wrong when you try to run Regnum or other graphics-intensive applications.

You should try the open source driver if your card is fully supported. Mine isn't, so for these kinds of applications I just boot with an old 2.6.28 kernel (last version that plays well with fglrx).

roxthiaguin
06-23-2009, 05:57 PM
This sounds like what I get with fglrx combined with 2.6.29 or newer kernel. To make a long story short, ATI binary drivers are broken with these recent kernels, and all the patches I've seen to force it working are dirty hacks that will not give you a completely working driver. For everyday applications the result could be fine, but things start to go wrong when you try to run Regnum or other graphics-intensive applications.

You should try the open source driver if your card is fully supported. Mine isn't, so for these kinds of applications I just boot with an old 2.6.28 kernel (last version that plays well with fglrx).

Ah, I´m using the open-source! =P
my card is fully supported...compiz run fine with it!
is just that, when I run regnum over this tutorial, it looks like a very ''poor refresh''. I though if I could install the fglrx on the chrooted one (with hardy) would be better, since when I was on hardy my card was supported by fglrx. Anyway, thz for the replay!

onemyndseye
06-29-2009, 02:20 AM
*** Updated script download link

onemyndseye
06-29-2009, 03:06 AM
roxthiaguin: You should be able to install fglrx to the chroot without afecting your current system

onemyndseye
06-30-2009, 05:26 AM
:imstupid:
i give up, i'm really disappointed, i've managed to run the game in the chrooted env. and it's segfaulting with the same log
i tried to start an X session from the chrooted env, but i couldn't get through the "your card is too old " problem
no, i think it was "your card is not supported"

"The basic method is to create a chroot using debootstrap and configure it for running X apps under your current Xserver/desktop" - onemyndseye
running in the hosts xserver? then what's the point in chrooting?

please help! i don't even want it to work (i'm fed up), i just want to understand it...


The point of this is..... using older graphics support libs (i.e. OpenGL (mesa)) to render RO on your current desktop.

danifamous
08-02-2009, 08:01 PM
ok. i need some assistance.
fresh install of ubuntu jaunty
downloaded RO_32 bit
tried to get it running -> graphic card too old.
so i driconf it to get onto the login.
then seg fault.
so i went and downloaded the script at the start (of this thread) and ran that (after replacing "hardy" with "jaunty")
didnt install chroot first (mistake?)
lost my /home directory
so im starting again. some help? very newbish so simple help please?

onemyndseye
08-04-2009, 07:44 AM
you will have to undo all of the changes done by the script.. DO NOT change hardy to jaunty as that essentially undoes what this script was built to do.

It was hard coded to install to /opt/hardy-chroot for a reason, my friend :)

The problem with the segfault is that RO crashs around the mesa drivers that ships with Intrepid or higher. So we use a hardy chroot so that we may use its older graphics drivers on our newer system


now.... as root you will have to delete the entries that were added to /etc/fstab and then reboot your machine... then you may delete /opt/hardy-chroot and try again



**** IMPORTANT: If you wish to delete the files in /opt/hardy-chroot YOU MUST remove the related lines from /etc/fstab first THEN REBOOT YOUR PC... failure to do this WILL trash your linux install




didnt install chroot first (mistake?)



This script installs the chroot and creates the needed scripts. Download the script and run it.. when it completes run RO with ~/regnum/regnum-online.sh


Hope this helps :) Please report back with your progress. thanks

Talandis
08-19-2009, 09:48 PM
An image is worth one thousand words, right? This is how I see the game, with or without Compiz. Everything deactivated and even tried safe mode, but it was the same. Any ideas?

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/4232/screenshot2009061304495.jpg

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/7812/screenshot2009061304505.jpg

http://img190.imageshack.us/content.php?page=done&l=img190/8835/screenshot2009061304511.jpg

After running the build-ro-bottle.sh on this thread, I was finally able to build a character. After logging in, I ran into the same graphical problem as above. Does someone have a response to this issue? Thanks!

Running the Ubuntu Jaunty
ATI Radion Xpress 200M

onemyndseye
09-07-2009, 02:33 AM
For what its worth I will no longer be maintaining this hack/workaround as I have recently purchased a muuuuch better laptop ;)

That being said I will still try my best to answer any questions that come up.

I think the biggest hope for this issue is that perhaps it may be solved with the release of the new game engine

fac_am
09-11-2009, 04:13 AM
For what its worth I will no longer be maintaining this hack/workaround as I have recently purchased a muuuuch better laptop ;)

That being said I will still try my best to answer any questions that come up.

I think the biggest hope for this issue is that perhaps it may be solved with the release of the new game engine

Anyway, GREAT workaround! I have the issue but rather wineing than getting chroot to work. Gotta work with my laptop, too much trash by now.

Hope NDG give official support to Linux client soon.

Best,

F.

capitantyler2
09-12-2009, 02:09 AM
I would only say that if you have problems with your rendering. To check it, just do
glxinfo | grep direct

if the answer is
direct rendering: Yes
is ok, but if you receive a "No",
and have errors like
libGL warning: 3D driver returned no fbconfigs.
libGL error: InitDriver failed
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering


run ldconfig
this command fixes some virtual links to some libraries.

onemyndseye
10-21-2009, 06:34 AM
This issue is nearing being closed as the user Arafails has provided a much better workaround and pointed the exact bug out to NGD.

The officially ends my involvement with this issue and renders this thread completely obsoleted.

Please see this thread for details: http://regnumonlinegame.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50234


:closed1: