View Full Version : Game hangs on characters.sdb loading.
platyna
09-01-2009, 06:22 PM
Yes, I tried to delete sdb and idx files, or even whole ~/regnum folder and reinstall, no luck.
Any other ideas?
Regards.
UmarilsStillHere
09-01-2009, 07:01 PM
There is this thread with the same Issue,
http://www.regnumonline.com.ar/forum/showthread.php?t=44745
On windows though, "removing problamatic SDB" file is the closest thing to a solution we got though :)
platyna
09-01-2009, 09:25 PM
I know how to use Search, removing the files did not helped, as I wrote.
Regards.
Znurre
09-02-2009, 04:31 AM
You can always try to start the rolauncher to ensure you are using the latest Regnum version, close it and then run:
cd live
./game username `echo -ne password | md5sum`This will bypass the rolauncher, and thus the check for characters.sdb.
You will probably get stuck right before entering the character selection screen though...
Please report back :)
platyna
09-02-2009, 09:35 AM
I know it Znurre, I can play because I do bypass rolauncher now. However it would be nice to get this problem fixed.
Regards.
onemyndseye
09-05-2009, 07:04 PM
Small correction to Z's post if anyone is interested.
./game username $(echo -ne password | md5sum |awk '{print $1}')
the awk is needed to curb any extra output from md5sum... it returns a "-" behind the password on my system which breaks the login string
Or a small script to do the same with more direct input:
#!/bin/bash
case "$1" in
--gui)
RO_USER="$(cat ~/.ngdstudios/rolauncher |grep user= |sed '{s|user=||}')"
PASSWD=$(zenity --entry --hide-text --text=Password)
PASS_CRYPT=$(echo -ne $PASSWD | md5sum |awk '{print $1}')
PASSWD=""
;;
*)
if [ -z "$1" -o -z "$2" ]; then
echo ""
echo "Usage: $0 <user> <password>"
echo " $0 --gui"
exit 1
else
if [ ! -f ./live/game ]; then
echo "Regnum Live folder not found! Running from the correct directory?"
exit 2
fi
fi
RO_USER=$1
PASS_CRYPT=$(echo -ne $2 | md5sum |awk '{print $1}')
;;
esac
cd ./live
./game $RO_USER $PASS_CRYPT &
RO_USER=""
PASS_CRYPT=""
exit 0
Have fun ;)
platyna
09-07-2009, 10:36 AM
Still it is not a solution for my problem, just workaround.
I tried to wipe everything and redownload whole game package and then reinstall - same problem persists.
Regards.
lord_dvl
09-07-2009, 10:46 AM
Do you have the file in the test directory?, why donīt you try tu copy that in de live directory?.
onemyndseye
09-07-2009, 06:00 PM
Platyna,
I never claimed it to be :)
Have you tried using the deb I have provided perhaps?
What type of internet do you have? (GSM, Cable, ISDN, Modem, Tibetan Hamster on a paddle wheel, Made with USB connection, using wifi??)
Hardware?
Distro? Version?
Start the NGD launcher with 'MALLOC_CHECK_=1 ./rolauncher'
When you deleted the ~/regnum directory did you try also removing ~/.ngdstudios?
any luck with lord_dvl's suggestion?
Any other suspicious behavior from the patch server? Slow downloads, repatching, etc, All other files seem to download OK I assume?
Related to above: are you behind a router? If so have you tried bypassing it?
Using any sort of iptables tinkering? shorewall, ufw etc etc
Tried snooping with wireshark to see whats happening with net traffic?
You say "hangs" - what does this mean? Returns a non responsive state? Simply waits forever for the file to download? (Big difference here)
When did this start? Anything about your system change just before? Added software? System update? new kernel?
If your system isnt up to date have you tried pulling it up to current if thats possible?
Tried a traceroute of the patch server?
My apologies if these questions seem very basic - You havnt left us much to go on.
platyna
09-17-2009, 06:40 PM
Yes, I removed .rolauncher and .ngdstudios directory too. And no luck with removing .sdb files.
And I know how to bypass rolauncher however more comfty is for me to get it working.
Regards.
Trister2
11-09-2009, 09:09 PM
I believed i found a fix..
During a strace of rolauncher its trying to access /dev/shm
as root chmod oug+rwx /dev/shm
then restart the launcher...
Hopefully your not working a productive enviroment cause it can lead to a security problem later on but you can change it to root.users (which would make it writeable to your user group or create a new group for your login)
Would like to know if this fixed your problem..
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.