|
|
Linux Technical issues under Linux platform |
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
11-02-2008, 09:16 PM | #1 |
Marquis
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 1,897
|
Memory leaks - Now way over the top
Algaros fight today... everything was fine until a big green army came.
My game totally froze, and when I had waited for 10 minutes and the game did not display one more frame and my harddisk activity was constant I tried to switch to vt1 and run free -m > free.log After a kernel panic, I checked the content... it's devastating Code:
Znurre:/home/Znurre # cat /root/free.log total used free shared buffers cached Mem: 1002 992 10 0 0 4 -/+ buffers/cache: 987 15 Swap: 1027 1027 0 KDE usually takes around 300MB of RAM, and I guess Mumble takes at most 100MB, if even that. This is very, very bad. It means that Regnum was using around 1.5 - 1.7GB of RAM at this moment.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg |
11-03-2008, 07:31 PM | #2 |
Master
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 270
|
Maybe they should adjust theire PC-Requirements to:
2GB Ram (at least) 4GB for mostly unhindered Gameplay . . . or fix leaks
__________________
Running Gag,Amenotil F., Gundar F., Jaspis U., Lance Lost, Tinman of Oz. (H,C,W,M,B,K)
Internally processed, nutritioally-drained biological output happens - it's called update |
11-03-2008, 07:39 PM | #3 |
Marquis
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 1,897
|
Strange thing is that I investigated a bit into this problem today, using bash and ps I captured the memory usage of the Regnum process each 10:th second and created a graph.
The result was very stable... Memory usage around 600-800MB, depending on the situation. I really cannot explain this sudden spike I had, but I will continue to capture my memory usage while playing to see if I can locate a source for the problems.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg |
11-03-2008, 08:54 PM | #4 |
Baron
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Svea Rike
Posts: 814
|
Determining memory usage with ps or top is very tricky, as you know, you can't really make an accurate assumption about it. From a cold boot, the memory will start out low, and the kernel will then allocate memory to whatever needs it, the memory usage doesn't really go down that much even if you quit a process, the kernel only reallocates 'dead' memory when it's needed.
__________________
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines...
|
11-04-2008, 09:30 AM | #5 |
Baron
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In Nekoko's lap ;)
Posts: 768
|
After small fights or wars my 2GB of RAM is always full, and I only run KDE and a few background applications like IRC. I go from 500MB used to around 2GB used + 500MB of swap used.
Regnum is full of memory leaks but they only seem to happen during fights. I think the biggest leaks exist in the polygon processing engine, and particle effects produce the most polygons. Try running in safe mode for a day and I bet the memory usage will drop dramatically. Regards,
__________________
Hannah Amelie • Catalina Nevena • Alicia Godwyn
Alsius Horus ✝ No chance of victory, no chance of defeat ✝ Frozen Flame Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean. An ocean of drama. |
11-04-2008, 01:48 PM | #6 | |
Apprentice
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ~/gam/regnum
Posts: 88
|
Quote:
For me, the game uses almost 2GB of RAM after a while of playing, but this at high resolution with high details. I am, however, using Arch Linux with no DE installed, so nothing else is really consuming memory. I have no SWAP usage, so for me it would not really be possible to tell for sure that there is a problem, other than the fact that more memory is being used after a while of playing.
__________________
Proud to be a goat! / Orgulloso de ser una cabra!
|
|
11-04-2008, 02:28 PM | #7 | |
Baron
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In Nekoko's lap ;)
Posts: 768
|
Quote:
In other words, when there is swap space in use, Regnum is the program that is consuming all of the memory, not the kernel, as it only allocates memory for those services when an application (such as Regnum) does not need them, which is disproved by the fact that swap is activated. Regnum is a gigantic memory hog - no doubt about it. Regards,
__________________
Hannah Amelie • Catalina Nevena • Alicia Godwyn
Alsius Horus ✝ No chance of victory, no chance of defeat ✝ Frozen Flame Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean. An ocean of drama. |
|
11-04-2008, 02:34 PM | #8 | |
Marquis
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 1,897
|
Quote:
I think I've already tried everything to optimize the memory consumption of Regnum, and found a good balance between memory usage and graphics. The reason I started this thread was to showcase this huge abnormality in the memory usage, which maybe got been introduced with the last patch. It's not a constant problem, it was just a big "spike". Everything was running smooth and suddenly everything froze.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg |
|
11-04-2008, 02:38 PM | #9 |
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Under your skin Posts: 1337
Posts: 2,490
|
memory leak, oh yeah, but it seems to have gotten worse with the last update, I've become an fps freak so I have alt+i open all the time, also try to notice what happens if you go into windowed mode and then switch to another application, check cpu% and fps , it didn't do this before the update.
|
11-11-2008, 06:31 AM | #10 |
Marquis
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 1,897
|
I managed to reproduce this yesterday.
While attacking the gate at Trelle I had to minimize the window for about 10 minutes to check up some things in Firefox. When I was done, I restored the window and found myself dead outside the gate with several Alsius players moving in and out from the fort. Everything was rather smooth, I would say ~20 fps. I presses ressurect button and suddenly I found myself standing at Trelle save, with 0 frames and I could not do anything. This time I was faster than the last time, which enabled me to run both a free -m and a ps aux. These are the results of free -m: Code:
total used free shared buffers cached Mem: 1002 993 9 0 0 6 -/+ buffers/cache: 987 15 Swap: 1027 1027 0 At this moment I was running Firefox, KDE, Amarok, Kopete and Regnum.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg |
|
|