Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2007, 10:08 PM   #1
ilcontegis
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
ilcontegis is on a distinguished road
Default translate

http://http://www.regnumonline.com.ar/forum/showthread.php?t=6244
here is explained what to do to use ubuntu and ati...

but WHY IS ONLY IN SPANISH??? this should be a technical support. this how to should be sticked in ENGLISH as is the global language...

can somebody translate this page pls?

thank you
ilcontegis no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 11:06 PM   #2
G40st
Master
 
G40st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 341
G40st is on a distinguished road
Default

Google is your friend use it, in this case Google translator.

http://www.google.com/translate?u=ht...&hl=en&ie=UTF8
__________________
Hollowpoint - Conjurer - RA Omnislash - knight Yoda - Barb - Horus

My MMORPG Is put on a hold for a unknown period of time
G40st no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 11:10 PM   #3
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

HOW-TO made by Sexer.
Translation by Xephandor


Ubuntu/7.04 ATI fglrx 8.36.5
Pre Requisits :
-Modificar el xorg.cof

Code:

Code:
$sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Go to the end of the file and add:

Code:
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection
This is due to the fact that the ATI drivers doesn't support Composite, and Ubuntu has Composite enabled.

Delete the OpenSource drivers

Go to Synaptics (the packet manager) and search for the "xserver-xorg-video-ati". Delete it, and delete the "xserver-xorg-video-all" too. If you're a command-line lover, use this:
Code:
sudo apt-get remove xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-all
IMPORTANT: IF YOU DO JUST HAVE THIS DRIVERS AND YOU DON'T FINISH THIS HOW-TO, YOUR XSERVER WILL STOP WORKING!!! You can still reinstall the drivers by logging in as root and writting this in a console:
Code:
sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-all

-Installing the necessary tools:

Go to the console and type:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install module-assistant build-essential fakeroot dh-make debhelper debconf libstdc++5
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r) wget
Driver Installation:

Delete all the "fglrx" packages you can. I recommend you to search for them with Synaptics.

You can find this ones:

fglrx-amdcccle, fglrx-control
fglrx-kernel-2.6.20-15 generic
fglrx-kernel-source
xorg-driver-fglrx
xorg-driver-fglrx-dev

Or, you can use this in a terminal:
Code:
sudo apt-get remove fglrx-amdcccle fglrx-control fglrx-kernel-2.6.20-15 generic fglrx-kernel-source xorg-driver-fglrx xorg-driver-fglrx-dev --purgue

Download the drivers:

You can do it from:
https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...x86.x86_64.run

And with the console:
Code:
mkdir -p ~/fglrx
cd ~/fglrx
wget "https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-8.36.5-x86.x86_64.run"

Generate the packages: ONLY FROM THE CONSOLE:

Code:
cd ~/fglrx
sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-8.36.5-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Ubuntu/7.04
Install the packages:

Code:
cd ~/fglrx
sudo dpkg -i *.deb
Delete the old kernel

Code:
sudo rm /usr/src/fglrx-kernel*.deb

Block the previous modules:

Code:
sudo gedit /etc/default/linux-restricted-modules-common
Edit the line:
Code:
DISABLED_MODULES=""
por:
DISABLED_MODULES="fglrx"
Go to the Synaptic package manager and search fot "restricted" and delete them. It will ask you to delete some other packages, just press yes.

Fix the broken dependencies:

Code:
sudo apt-get -f install

Compile the "kernel module"

Code:
sudo module-assistant prepare
sudo module-assistant update
sudo module-assistant build fglrx
sudo module-assistant install fglrx
sudo depmod -a
Configuration:

METHOD 1:
Code:
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup.for.ati
sudo aticonfig --initial --force
sudo aticonfig --overlay-type=Xv
That way it integrates the module fglrx to the xorg.conf
IMPORTANT: IF THE "sudo aticonfig --initial --force" COMMAND DOESN'T WORK, YOU'LL LOSE ALL THE CONFIG ON xorg.conf AND YOU'LL HAVE TO USE THE METHOD 3!!!!!!


METHOD 2:
Code:
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
And edit this line:
Code:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "ati"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection
edit the Driver line in order to make it look like this:
Code:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

METHOD 3:
Make a xorg.conf from scrach. This will delete your modifications on this file, so backup it!
Code:
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup.for.ati
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
In the config window choose "fglrx" as driver and the resolutions you want.



Reboot your Computer!



Verifying the driver installation:

(Open a console)
Code:
glxgears
fgl_glxgears
glxinfo | grep OpenGL
If you get no errors and you can see the gears, it means you've installed the drivers correctly! If not, post it here

(open a console)
Code:
glxinfo | grep direct
If it says "direct rendering: yes" now you can pwn at Regnum!
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 11:13 PM   #4
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
Google is your friend use it, in this case Google translator.

http://www.google.com/translate?u=ht...&hl=en&ie=UTF8
Let me tell you something, and I don't want to sound rude, but...


I HATE ONLINE TRANSLATORS!!!!

It's always better to be able to speak and not to depend of a computer, translation is something too human to let a machine do it. And how can a computer translate sarcasm or a joke? Just humans can

Anyway, use google translators when you can't call a translator :P
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 11:38 PM   #5
G40st
Master
 
G40st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 341
G40st is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xephandor
It's always better to be able to speak and not to depend of a computer
Yes wait i will go and learn spanish just so i can translate this text.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xephandor
It's always better to be able to speak and not to depend of a computer, translation is something too human to let a machine do it. And how can a computer translate sarcasm or a joke? Just humans can
I don't understand, these translators are made by humans, so it's not the translator that automaticly translates the word/sentence, it's the code that humans have wrote that does it.

And if you use a translator you don't want to know if something is a joke, you want to know what it says, not if it says anything funny right?

And i may agree that having someone else to translate for you is better then using a pc, but i prefer online translators because they are fast, they do their job anytime any where and they never say no. A friend may say no for some reason but a online translator never will.

EDIT: Sorry if i sound extremely Sarcastic/rude, its late and im tired.
__________________
Hollowpoint - Conjurer - RA Omnislash - knight Yoda - Barb - Horus

My MMORPG Is put on a hold for a unknown period of time
G40st no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:37 AM   #6
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
Yes wait i will go and learn spanish just so i can translate this text.
Ok, you're right... You can't learn spanish just for this tutorial :P
I meant that it's better to know a language than to depend on a machine, i didn't say it was wrong to use the translator just for this.
As a side note, if he had used this online translator, the result would have been a disaster, since the terminal and package names are in english

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
I don't understand, these translators are made by humans, so it's not the translator that automatically translates the word/sentence, it's the code that humans have wrote that does it.
The problem is that you need to understand the idea and then translate... You can't just translate word by word, you have to remake the sentence in the other language... As far as I know, the developments on automatic translators just take some common structures and search for an equivalent.
The code is just telling the translator what to do with a set of words... It's not actually translating, it's something like to transliterate.
And when it doesn't find a match, it just translates word-by-word.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
And if you use a translator you don't want to know if something is a joke, you want to know what it says, not if it says anything funny right?
Well, I see that you didn't get the point... I mean that some things (like sarcasm or a joke) can't be translated. The same can happen with some structures or idiomatic expressions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
And i may agree that having someone else to translate for you is better then using a pc, but i prefer online translators because they are fast, they do their job anytime any where and they never say no.
I was saying that a human is always better, and if you have the chance to call a translator instead than using some online translator you'll get a far better translation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G40st
A friend may say no for some reason but a online translator never will.
That's true.. :P

Quote:
EDIT: Sorry if i sound extremely Sarcastic/rude, its late and im tired.
No problem!
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 10:21 AM   #7
ilcontegis
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
ilcontegis is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks man
ilcontegis no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 11:29 AM   #8
ilcontegis
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
ilcontegis is on a distinguished road
Default

i followed the guide...but regnum online is still not working...no way.....ok i leave...i tried everything...i'll find another game waiting a linux version that works with ubuntu and ati.
ilcontegis no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:20 AM   #9
sexer
Pledge
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
sexer is on a distinguished road
Default

try with depmode -ae intead -a
sexer no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:00 AM   #10
Angelwinged_Devil
Banned
 
Angelwinged_Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Under your skin Posts: 1337
Posts: 2,490
Angelwinged_Devil is on a distinguished road
Default

I think babelfish delivers a better translation than google translator. Look at altavista.com for babelfish
Angelwinged_Devil no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2024 © All rights reserved