08-01-2016, 07:05 PM | #11 |
NGD·Studios
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,859
|
Have you tried installing the library?
Code:
sudo apt-get install libjpeg62
__________________
|
08-01-2016, 07:42 PM | #12 | |
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
|
Quote:
"...Others in unrelated app installations also suffer a lack of "libjpeg62", tho not sure why. I then installed it. I ran native-RO (the one that wouldn't do ANYthing before) in a terminal..." -Adrian, is it normal for the linux-native version of RO to look for STEAM? It cannot find it of course. It's not there to find. |
|
08-01-2016, 07:58 PM | #13 |
Marquis
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
|
This is very odd. Does the user you log in to ro decide if it has to run with steam?
Also, just out of curiosity, can you confirm that that libjpeg.so.62 is infact located in /home/adm/regnim folder? Very sorry for your issues, hope we get it nailed somehow. Why it is asking for steam when steam isnt even launcching it is beyond my knowledge.. |
08-01-2016, 08:19 PM | #14 |
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
|
Is it supposed to be in home/admn/regnum/live/libs? If so, then it is NOT. NO libs at all in the "libs" folder there. Tried cntl-h & find nothing hidden, so...
|
08-01-2016, 09:31 PM | #15 |
Master
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 422
|
I could actually confirm OPs issue:
Code:
./rolauncher: error while loading shared libraries: libjpeg.so.62: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory But after installing libjpeg again (see adrians post), everything worked properly again. (Note: There are NO lib files whatsoever in the live folder. And the lib folder is totally empty. All the libs which can be found in a windows installation seem to be encapsulated within the binaries) |
08-03-2016, 09:29 PM | #16 |
Marquis
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
|
I did some debugging with Lebeau (kudos to your patience!)
Sadly, its way beyond library stuff. In the recently compiled game binaries, the CPU instructions LAHF/SAHF are used that is not compatible with some of the older 64Bit CPU The "bt" on the crash: Code:
Program received signal SIGILL, Illegal instruction. 0x00000000011966ba in ?? () (gdb) bt #0 0x00000000011966ba in ?? () #1 0x000000000117cd20 in lua_pcall () #2 0x0000000000718e3e in lua_action::operator()(ActionableObject*, Message*) () #3 0x0000000000816c41 in ActionableObject::run_action(Message*, ActionData*, char const*, int) () #4 0x0000000000810234 in ActionableObject::receive_action(Message*) () #5 0x0000000000961789 in Entity::input_message_internal(Message*) () #6 0x000000000096657d in LuaEntity::input_message_internal(Message*) () #7 0x000000000097235f in ProxyEntity::receive_message_callback(Message*) () #8 0x0000000000961194 in Entity::input_message_internal(Message*) () #9 0x000000000093ee7a in EntityMessageQueue::process_a_message(Message*) () #10 0x0000000000941621 in EntityMessageQueue::process_messages() () #11 0x000000000093b0be in EntitySystem::poll_frame() () #12 0x000000000064f84b in GameClient::iterate() () #13 0x000000000072581d in MainLoop::iterate() () #14 0x0000000000645e38 in main () With the instruction creating the SIGILL: Code:
(gdb) x/i $pc => 0x11966ba: sahf Code:
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr specifically missing the flag Code:
lahf_lm: Load AH from Flags (LAHF) and Store AH into Flags (SAHF) in long mode Questions: * Did something on the compile flags change / or the compiler version change in one of the recent releases? * Can this be fixed on NGDs end? |
08-03-2016, 09:34 PM | #17 |
NGD·Studios
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,859
|
Thank you Enio, that was some great debugging. Of course it can be flagged.
Lebeau, which processor do you have? Please give us as much detail as you can.
__________________
|
08-03-2016, 09:54 PM | #18 | |
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
|
Quote:
processor : 0 vendor_id : GenuineIntel cpu family : 15 model : 4 model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz stepping : 4 microcode : 0x6 cpu MHz : 2793.097 cache size : 1024 KB physical id : 0 siblings : 2 core id : 0 cpu cores : 2 apicid : 0 initial apicid : 0 fpu : yes fpu_exception : yes cpuid level : 5 wp : yes flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr bogomips : 5586.19 clflush size : 64 cache_alignment : 128 address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual power management: processor : 1 vendor_id : GenuineIntel cpu family : 15 model : 4 model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz stepping : 4 microcode : 0x6 cpu MHz : 2793.097 cache size : 1024 KB physical id : 0 siblings : 2 core id : 1 cpu cores : 2 apicid : 1 initial apicid : 1 fpu : yes fpu_exception : yes cpuid level : 5 wp : yes flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts nopl pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr bogomips : 5586.19 clflush size : 64 cache_alignment : 128 address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual power management: |
|
08-06-2016, 01:23 AM | #19 |
Marquis
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
|
Just want to post an update on this issue.
For now we worked aound by getting the 32Bit version running on the 64Bit system. However this is nothing a normal user will be getting right. Theres alot of dependencies you need to install in 32Bit. It involved starting the "game" binary without rolauncher to find out which 32Bit-libs were missing and resolving which ubuntu packages might contain it etc. tl;dr: If there's no good reason to break compat with some of the older 64Bit CPU, i.e. some great improvements in performance for the newer, i think it would be worth getting this fixed (especially since RO might be played on older hardware in some parts of the world). |
08-07-2016, 10:20 AM | #20 |
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 'B-F-Egypt', Virginia, U.S.A. (please pity & forgive us poor american fools!).
Posts: 605
|
|
|
|