Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2016, 06:44 PM   #11
Adrian
NGD·Studios
 
Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,859
Adrian will become famous soon enoughAdrian will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elanor View Post
First of all thanks a lot for the quick replies. I got the file from Enio's post but rolancher was still failling, this time with the error:
Can you post the logs? (error_log.txt and log.txt)

There can be a shader failing or something similar.
__________________
Adrian no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 06:51 PM   #12
Elanor
Pledge
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Elanor is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian View Post
Can you post the logs? (error_log.txt and log.txt)

There can be a shader failing or something similar.
https://goo.gl/ShwQGd --> log.txt
https://goo.gl/zQvE3N --> error_log.txt

Someone mentioned GTK requisites. is there a list of pre requisites somewhere?
OFFTOPIC: the limits to attach files to this forum are ridiculous.
Elanor no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 07:52 PM   #13
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian View Post
64-bit one?
Yeah, seems like.
Code:
[enio@thinkpad test]$ cat log.txt | grep build
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [ClientBase][client_base.cpp(343)] Client build: 39669
[enio@thinkpad test]$ file game
game: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2, for GNU/Linux 2.6.26, BuildID[sha1]=90e30231e6ef31ede2d52c9e4055cfbe471cf0a2, stripped
[enio@thinkpad test]$ objdump -d game | grep sahf
 119671a:    9e                       sahf
Could it come from a statically linked library?

Because it is odd, there is exactly one occurrence of this SAHF instruction, which gcc uses to optimize fmod from glibc (https://code.woboq.org/userspace/gli...hinline.h.html seach for fmod) while theres multiple occurrences of a seemingly unoptimized fmod.

Short excursion in the dirty deeps of assembly, (skip -> go to next bold text):
Its only occurrence:
Code:
 1196711: dd 42 08              fldl   0x8(%rdx)
 1196714: dd 02                 fldl   (%rdx)  
 1196716: d9 f8                 fprem
 1196718: df e0                 fnstsw %ax
 119671a: 9e                    sahf
 119671b: 7a f9                 jp     1196716 <luaopen_table@@Base+0x2956>
This loads 2 floats (from adress %rdx and %rdx+8) into the FPU registers, calculates the remainder (kinda modulo) with fprem instruction, result status is now in the FPU flags, these get stored in the CPU ax register (with fnstsw %ax).

Now optimized and normal code changes.

The optimized version pushes the result status into the CPU flags with sahf. The unoptimized does the same with a test 0x4, %ah. Basically checking if the 3rd bit is one, test stores the result of the test in CPU flags.
Next follows a jp (some jump), which jumps somewhere, depending on the status in the CPU flags.
Optimization here is, that sahf seems to be much faster than test.
For the record, the unoptimized remainder calculation (Occurrs 70 times):
Code:
  807950: dd 44 24 10           fldl   0x10(%rsp)
  807954: dd 44 24 08           fldl   0x8(%rsp)
  807958: d9 f8                 fprem
  80795a: df e0                 fnstsw %ax
  80795c: f6 c4 04              test   $0x4,%ah
  80795f: 75 f7                 jne    807958 <_ZN6Effect11CMeshEffect15update_internalEf@@Base+0x298>
End excursion.


Since the optimization occurs only once compared to numerous unoptimized remainder calculations, i assume that theres a small part that did not get that "-mno-sahf" - either through some error in the makefiles, or by some statically linked-in code.
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 07:57 PM   #14
Adrian
NGD·Studios
 
Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,859
Adrian will become famous soon enoughAdrian will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
Yeah, seems like.
Code:
[enio@thinkpad test]$ cat log.txt | grep build
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [ClientBase][client_base.cpp(343)] Client build: 39669
[enio@thinkpad test]$ file game
game: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2, for GNU/Linux 2.6.26, BuildID[sha1]=90e30231e6ef31ede2d52c9e4055cfbe471cf0a2, stripped
[enio@thinkpad test]$ objdump -d game | grep sahf
 119671a:    9e                       sahf
Could it come from a statically linked library?

Because it is odd, there is exactly one occurrence of this SAHF instruction, which gcc uses to optimize fmod from glibc (https://code.woboq.org/userspace/gli...hinline.h.html seach for fmod) while theres multiple occurrences of a seemingly unoptimized fmod.

Short excursion in the dirty deeps of assembly, (skip -> go to next bold text):
Its only occurrence:
Code:
 1196711: dd 42 08              fldl   0x8(%rdx)
 1196714: dd 02                 fldl   (%rdx)  
 1196716: d9 f8                 fprem
 1196718: df e0                 fnstsw %ax
 119671a: 9e                    sahf
 119671b: 7a f9                 jp     1196716 <luaopen_table@@Base+0x2956>
This loads 2 floats (from adress %rdx and %rdx+8) into the FPU registers, calculates the remainder (kinda modulo) with fprem instruction, result status is now in the FPU flags, these get stored in the CPU ax register (with fnstsw %ax).

Now optimized and normal code changes.

The optimized version pushes the result status into the CPU flags with sahf. The unoptimized does the same with a test 0x4, %ah. Basically checking if the 3rd bit is one, test stores the result of the test in CPU flags.
Next follows a jp (some jump), which jumps somewhere, depending on the status in the CPU flags.
Optimization here is, that sahf seems to be much faster than test.
For the record, the unoptimized remainder calculation (Occurrs 70 times):
Code:
  807950: dd 44 24 10           fldl   0x10(%rsp)
  807954: dd 44 24 08           fldl   0x8(%rsp)
  807958: d9 f8                 fprem
  80795a: df e0                 fnstsw %ax
  80795c: f6 c4 04              test   $0x4,%ah
  80795f: 75 f7                 jne    807958 <_ZN6Effect11CMeshEffect15update_internalEf@@Base+0x298>
End excursion.


Since the optimization occurs only once compared to numerous unoptimized remainder calculations, i assume that theres a small part that did not get that "-mno-sahf" - either through some error in the makefiles, or by some statically linked-in code.
Check the other thread. I replied there!
__________________
Adrian no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 07:59 PM   #15
Adrian
NGD·Studios
 
Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wien, Österreich
Posts: 2,859
Adrian will become famous soon enoughAdrian will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elanor View Post
https://goo.gl/ShwQGd --> log.txt
https://goo.gl/zQvE3N --> error_log.txt

Someone mentioned GTK requisites. is there a list of pre requisites somewhere?
OFFTOPIC: the limits to attach files to this forum are ridiculous.
Could you, somehow, check the driver you were using back then with Ubuntu 16 and compare if you're using the same one?
__________________
Adrian no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 08:11 PM   #16
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elanor View Post
https://goo.gl/ShwQGd --> log.txt
https://goo.gl/zQvE3N --> error_log.txt
Seems having issues with your GPU type. I'm using the same versions as you do for
Code:
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl_x11.cpp(224)] X Server vendor: The X.Org Foundation
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl_x11.cpp(228)] X Server release: 1.18.4
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl.cpp(363)] XVidMode Extension version 2.2
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl.cpp(373)] Xinerama Extension version 1.1
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl.cpp(535)] OpenGL version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.1
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl_extensions_loader.cpp(312)] OpenGL Shading Language version: 1.30
[11/08/2016 16:10:31] [RenderizerGL][renderizer_gl_extensions_loader.cpp(318)] Shader model 2 capable card detected
except its Fedora vendor, does that one differ from the normal one? Dont think so.

I think this needs to be fixed on NGDs end.
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 09:49 PM   #17
Elanor
Pledge
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Elanor is on a distinguished road
Default

Enio & Adrian
I'm trying to get a vm running 16.04 to compare it with what i have on my bare metal fedora 24.
In the meantime here are some specifics from my laptop:

Code:
[siggy@alnair regnum]$ uname -a
Linux alnair 4.6.4-301.fc24.x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Jul 12 11:50:00 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

[siggy@alnair regnum]$ glxinfo | grep OpenGL
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Mobile 
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 12.0.1
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 3.30
OpenGL core profile context flags: (none)
OpenGL core profile profile mask: core profile
OpenGL core profile extensions:
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL context flags: (none)
OpenGL extensions:
OpenGL ES profile version string: OpenGL ES 3.0 Mesa 12.0.1
OpenGL ES profile shading language version string: OpenGL ES GLSL ES 3.00
OpenGL ES profile extensions:

[siggy@alnair regnum]$ lspci -vk 
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device 3977
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 26
	Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
	Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
	I/O ports at 3000 [size=64]
	[virtual] Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
	Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
	Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
	Capabilities: [a4] PCI Advanced Features
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
Elanor no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 09:58 PM   #18
Elanor
Pledge
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Elanor is on a distinguished road
Default

I also see this in the logs (that i just started fresh):
error_log.txt
Quote:
[siggy@alnair live]$ cat error_log.txt | grep Error | wc -l
961
[11/08/2016 15:56:13] [Texture Manager][texture_manager.cpp(212)] Error uploading texture, resource ID: 72524
log.txt
Quote:
[siggy@alnair live]$ cat log.txt | grep error
0:33(42): preprocessor error: extra tokens at end of directive
error: linking with uncompiled shader
Elanor no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 10:10 PM   #19
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

Do you have any options you can set in rolauncher options (just after login, top right) regarding render quality or anything?

Can you post the part after "OpenGL extensions:" in glxinfo? Maybe a diff to mine gives hints what your GPU doesnt like about the regnum textures.
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 12:35 PM   #20
Elanor
Pledge
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Elanor is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
Do you have any options you can set in rolauncher options (just after login, top right) regarding render quality or anything?

Can you post the part after "OpenGL extensions:" in glxinfo? Maybe a diff to mine gives hints what your GPU doesnt like about the regnum textures.
This is the complete output of glxinfo

https://goo.gl/1BRNB8

I don't think OpenGL or the Intel driver have nothing to do with this, though. I think is either something pointing to a wrong location for the textures within the binary (ius there a reason why you guys don't provide sourceces?) or missing libraries of some sort.
Elanor no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2024 © All rights reserved