|
|
Linux Technical issues under Linux platform |
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
06-24-2009, 08:21 AM | #11 |
Baron
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Not where it looks like, to either of us.
Posts: 706
|
Wow.
The fact that the flags are greyed out actually suggests he doesn't own the file anyway (did you run firefox with root privileges or something?) Anyway, Nightchill, RO actually doesn't work out of the box with Ubuntu. You have to install OpenAL yourself (I know, WTF?)
__________________
If you can't detect sarcasm yourself, please pay attention when it's pointed out to you.
Arathael :: Wyrd Sceote :: Gwn M'ger — Soul Taker, Imperial Guard of Ignis |
06-24-2009, 11:27 AM | #12 |
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 433
|
What you are doing is changing the directory to RegnumOnlineInstall_32, and since that is a file you can not change the directory to it. That means you can't do the following:
Code:
cd /home/an/Desktop/RegnumOnlineInstall_32 Code:
cd /home/$USER/Desktop chmod +x RegnumOnlineInstall_32 ./RegnumOnlineInstall_32 Code:
su - chown $USER /home/$USER/Desktop/RegnumOnlineInstall_32 su - $USER Note: $USER = your username, e.g. if your username is johndoe than you replace $USER with johndoe. (e.g. /home/johndoe instead of /home/$USER) @arathael, umm, last time i installed ubuntu ibex (2 days ago) and ran regnum libopenal was already installed. |
06-24-2009, 06:22 PM | #13 |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
please post the output of the following command:
Code:
mount Thanks,
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel |
06-24-2009, 09:59 PM | #14 |
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 433
|
let me break it down,
the following changes the user from you to root, for that you need the root password (ask your brother for it) Code:
su - Code:
chown $USER /home/$USER/Desktop/RegnumOnlineInstall_32 Code:
su - $USER |
06-25-2009, 06:20 AM | #15 |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
Ok...one more:
show output of this command: Code:
ls -l / (Nightchill: Im thinking his home dir may be set to noexec) [/code]
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel |
06-25-2009, 09:22 AM | #16 |
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 433
|
|
06-25-2009, 09:27 AM | #17 | |
Count
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toulouse
Posts: 1,335
|
Quote:
Downloaded it twice, and twice it was not running saying some crap like sh: ('!
__________________
« Thanks all, you are right I'm great with the barbarian ... for killing mobs. » -- Athena Stillwater
|
|
06-25-2009, 02:19 PM | #18 |
Initiate
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Spawned at save
Posts: 198
|
Please give the output of
Code:
cat /etc/fstab
__________________
|
06-25-2009, 03:32 PM | #19 | |
Initiate
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Spawned at save
Posts: 198
|
Quote:
For quick fix, do: Code:
sudo mount -oremount,exec /pub/data1 Code:
/dev/sda2 /pub/data1 ntfs-3g rw,defaults,user,exec 0 0 /dev/sdb1 /pub/data2 ntfs-3g rw,defaults,user,exec 0 0 You should be able to do the chmod +x etc. sequence at this point. If not, show the output of mount command again.
__________________
|
|
06-25-2009, 04:44 PM | #20 |
Initiate
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Spawned at save
Posts: 198
|
It's a protected file that regular users can't edit. Ask your brother (or whoever has sudo rights on the machine) to make the changes as root user.
After making the changes, just reboot and retry the chmod sequence.
__________________
|
|
|