|
|
Linux Technical issues under Linux platform |
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
07-20-2009, 08:34 PM | #11 |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
Good HOWTO...
2 notes from my end concerning renice: 1. Renice to +19 causes VERY poor performance on all 3 of my PC's 2. Renice to -X helps but note that this is known to cause sound lags if set to high. -15 works well (about +15fps over the default) on my laptop but -10 causes sound lag on another. Also you may add that on any Linux PC I have ever run this game on (20+ including testing for the Debian Package)... setting MALLOC_CHECK_=1 helps GREATLY with overall stability.. as well as taking care that RO is launched from its own directory.. I use a small script to launch. (All of these "tweaks" are included in the Debian/Ubuntu package except for resetting the video mode) rolauncher.sh Code:
#!/bin/bash ## Set variables ## Set this to the full path of your regnum install GAME_DIR=~/regnum RO_PRIO="-15" # Store Current video mode so it may be recalled later. This is because RO does not # always return my display to the correct mode. This part is optional OLD_VIDMODE="$(xrandr |grep "Screen 0" | awk '{print $8 $9 $10}' |sed '{s|,||}')" wait_game() { ## Simple function to sleep until RO exits ## RO_EXIT="0" while [ $RO_EXIT = "0" ] do TMP1=$(ps -U $USER |grep game |grep -v grep |awk '{print $1}') if [ -z "$TMP1" ]; then RO_EXIT=1 fi # This is a very short sleep that probably should be increased to reduce CPU cycles sleep 0.5 done } ## Attempt to make sure no other regnum process is running # killall -9 game killall -9 rolauncher ### Setup the env and start laucher # Change Current working directory to where RO is installed cd "$GAME_DIR" # Set MALLOC_CHECK and start RO export MALLOC_CHECK_=1 ./rolauncher ## Adjust Priority Level (Optional) ## ## Uncomment this section and give yourself NOPASSWD access to renice in /etc/sudoers ## if this feature is needed/wanted # # example: myuser ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/renice, /usr/sbin/rovclock # #PID="$(pidof game)" #sudo renice "$RO_PRIO" $(pidof game) ## Wait for main process to exit. Use a loop to get this done # sleep 2 wait_game ## Clean up and reset video mode xrandr -s "$OLD_VIDMOD" export MALLOC_CHECK_=0 -onemyndseye
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel |
07-20-2009, 09:00 PM | #12 |
Apprentice
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 93
|
I've spent a lot of time playing with nice levels too and your settings are completely the opposite to mine Platyna:
The best frame rate I get is reniceing game with a negative value, or leaving it at normal priority. I've tried variations of giving game more favourable scheduling than X, X more than game, but If I nice + the game, its unplayable - I'm talking about 1 fps if I'm lucky. I'm running a fairly light config ( fvwm2 with all the shit turned off) and everything else killed, or running at around nice +10 (such as named, etc). My resolution needs to be 800x600x16, not native (which would be 1280x1024). Editing game.cfg and reducing vg_camera_far_plane helps a little, if you don't care about scenery in the distance. I've also started playing with the sound off, because if you renice the game, the sound can be a good few seconds behind, which is so confusing that there's no point having it on at all. The problem I have is not with the overall frame rate, which I can more-or-less adjust to after a while, but for me its the constant lock ups. The whole game freezes for anything between 10 and 60 seconds. As of the new update, I froze for almost 2 minutes just before, with the occasional one or two frame jump in between. My PC is shit (AMD Sempron(TM) 2800+, GeForce FX 5200, 4 gig RAM), but it used to be fine 2 updates ago.
__________________
Zodar - The Evil Bald Fu^wPerson... |
07-20-2009, 09:04 PM | #13 |
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Łódż, Poland
Posts: 1,506
|
Your posts are bullshit
Regards. This is supposed to be a game, if I showed you video's I recorded from before 1.0.6 and now on the same ratio the results would be drastic. Why do you think NGD has started work on a new engine? Something is wrong, if I go to stores and professional personnel tell me the problem is with the game itself, surely it means something is wrong. But nah, perhaps you are smarter. |
07-20-2009, 10:59 PM | #14 |
Initiate
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 234
|
You are pathetic. I tested those changes and they were good for me. I even stated my rationale behind those hints, however there are many systems and many configurtions. You don't like my hints - don't use them, instead of posting insults. Grow up.
Regards.
__________________
Syrtis, Horus: Platyna (Conjurer), Platyna Ahn (Warlock), Platyna Ida (Hunter), Platyna Ira (Barbarian) |
07-21-2009, 07:41 AM | #15 |
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
|
07-21-2009, 09:44 AM | #16 |
Initiate
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 234
|
Last time I experimented with them I experienced weird behaviour - eg game handing on loading. It seems I need to experiment with it again.
Regards.
__________________
Syrtis, Horus: Platyna (Conjurer), Platyna Ahn (Warlock), Platyna Ida (Hunter), Platyna Ira (Barbarian) |
07-21-2009, 08:56 PM | #17 |
Count
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,164
|
Two lines that might improve performance in game.cfg
dbg_disable_shaders [or shader, don't remember] dbg_disable_fog But I cannot remember if the value must be 0/1 or true/false. I used that back when I had a weak ATI card and it gave a little boost.
__________________
French Warriors of Syrtis: Nessa Telrunya (Hunter) - Myxir (Warlock) - Estra (Conjurer)
In War it does not matter who is right, but who is left. |
07-24-2009, 03:22 PM | #18 | |
Initiate
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 159
|
Quote:
Code:
renice 19 `pidof game`
__________________
Ra: Lucinda {Silverbow,Wintersun,Ironfist} Horus: Laleja - Conjurer (42) Retired: Laleja / Faer / Nalys Silverbow / Tain / Vorr |
|
07-24-2009, 04:46 PM | #19 |
Count
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toulouse
Posts: 1,335
|
It's not leet enought if you don't use awk!
Ok I was kidding. It's really common to write thoses kind of code for script since you don't really care if it's efficient or not, what matters is that it works (in a short time).
__________________
« Thanks all, you are right I'm great with the barbarian ... for killing mobs. » -- Athena Stillwater
|
07-24-2009, 05:23 PM | #20 | ||
Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: L'Aquila, Italy
Posts: 77
|
Quote:
Quote:
*at least on my pc
__________________
|
||
|
|