|
|
Linux Technical issues under Linux platform |
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
10-28-2009, 10:21 AM | #11 |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
This is getting alittle off topic but It took some work to figure out so I thought I would include it. This is how I set my laptop up for gaming and movies in surround.
This laptop has 5 speakers total: Shown here They represent the following channels: 1 - Front Left 2 - Front Right 3 - Rear Left 4 - Rear Right 5 - LFE/Subwolfer (Bottom of laptop) The OpenAL config: ~/.alsoftrc Code:
format = AL_FORMAT_51CHN16 refresh = 6144 #sources = 256 stereodup = True drivers = alsa ## ## ALSA backend stuff ## [alsa] device = lenovo_surround # Call my virtually maped device #periods = 0 mmap = true The default surround device (pcm surround51) had my channels alittle mixed up so I remaped as follows. The syntax I learned for this maping is ` ttable.MAP_CHAN.REAL_CHAN GAIN ' MAP_CHAN = Represented channel REAL_CHAN = Actual channel as identified by alsa GAIN = Gain/Volume at a fraction (1 = 100%) ~/.asoundrc Code:
pcm.!default { type plug slave.pcm "lenovo_surround" slave.channels 6 route_policy duplicate } pcm.lenovo_surround { type route slave.pcm surround51 slave.channels 6 # Front with 50% volume LFE for both channels ttable.0.2 0.7 ## Front Left (Speaker 1) ttable.1.3 0.7 ## Front Right (Speaker 2) ttable.0.5 0.5 ## Touch sub (Speaker 5) ttable.1.5 0.5 ## Touch sub (Speaker 5) # Rear with 50% volume LFE for both channels ttable.2.0 1.0 ## Rear Left (Speaker 3) ttable.3.1 1.0 ## Rear Right (Speaker 4) ttable.2.5 0.5 ## Touch Sub (Speaker 5) ttable.3.5 0.5 ## Touch Sub (Speaker 5) # Center (Spkr1+Spkr2) with 50% volume LFE ttable.4.2 0.5 ## Center Left (Speaker 1) ttable.4.3 0.5 ## Center Right (Speaker 2) ttable.4.5 0.5 ## Touch Sub (Speaker 5) # Center Rear (Spkr3+Spkr4) with 50% volume LFE ttable.5.0 0.5 ## Center Rear Left (Speaker 3) ttable.5.1 0.5 ## Center Rear Right (Speaker 4) ttable.5.5 0.5 ## Touch Sub (Speaker 5) } Still playing with the volume levels abit to get that "just right mix" but I've tested this with RO and Quake4 with satisfying results. I dont expect this exact example to work for anyone else or do I truely believe it to be a 100% correct (for instance: the gains in most channels are too high. i.e. Center Rear should total to 1) example of mixing 5.1 surround, but it gave me the results I was looking for and hopefully will save someone the trouble of figuring this crap out lol.
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel Last edited by onemyndseye; 10-28-2009 at 10:55 AM. |
10-29-2009, 08:08 PM | #12 | |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
Quote:
Yeah.. alot of the same issues with me.. It usually starts with the NGD logo .. the sound clip that plays sometimes distorts. Then during gameplay sound eventually begins to distort and eventually go out completely infact.. if I explicitly set openal to use pulse in /etc/openal/alsoft.cfg RO hangs at startup (on the checking firewall box)... returns a no responsive state and must be SIGKILL'ed
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel |
|
10-30-2009, 06:01 AM | #13 | |
Pledge
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 47
|
Quote:
RicX |
|
10-30-2009, 07:41 AM | #14 |
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Troll Castle
Posts: 43
|
everything is working fine for me cept openal gives me a screaming sound at times. fps seem about the same as Jaunty maybe even better. The Lag is a joke unfortunately. although wifi/ethernet is fine for everything else.
|
10-30-2009, 05:38 PM | #15 |
Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
|
Out of the poeple here that have this problem:
Who else is using hda-intel audio? ` lsmod |grep snd_hda_intel `
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel |
10-30-2009, 07:02 PM | #16 |
Master
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: france
Posts: 397
|
With my gentoo 64 i have tested the latest pulseaudio/openal some weeks ago and had problems too. The sound just stop working after a moment(just for the game) and some mini freeze.
My best solution was to remove pulseaudio and use alsa. |
10-30-2009, 08:15 PM | #17 |
Master
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
|
If anyone dont want use alsa because it only supports sound for one applications (if i am right?), i can suggest using OSSv4 instead. Its not as easy to install as alsa in most distrubutions but not very hard either. Just download the oss package here and read the installation instruction.
More informations about OSS here. |
10-30-2009, 08:24 PM | #18 |
Marquis
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
|
I am using this.
__________________
Dky Sven, level 54 knight (Ra) Valhalla Dky the Goat, level 35 conjurer(Ra) Dky Sven, level 51 knight(Horus) Something |
10-30-2009, 08:38 PM | #19 |
Master
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Friesland, the Netherlands
Posts: 298
|
I have just a little bit of jittering every now and then with the an Nvidia HDA audio chip.
__________________
|
10-31-2009, 12:12 AM | #20 | |
Marquis
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RA
Posts: 1,897
|
Quote:
Old OSS which is shipped with most distros does not.
__________________
Winning a fight is not what makes you a good player, it's how you do it.
http://home.znur.re/screenshot%20201...2011_39_37.jpg |
|
|
|