Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2009, 01:50 AM   #21
onemyndseye
Master
 
onemyndseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Central USA
Posts: 260
onemyndseye is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ertial View Post
I have just a little bit of jittering every now and then with the an Nvidia HDA audio chip.
but your are using that module. Correct? (this is the case with my nvidia chipset PC)


I suspect that this chipset isnt always being detected correctly by the kernel. I have completely gotten rid of these problems on 1 machine thats using this module.. vastly improved another and got a 3rd working perfectly from no RO sound at all with playing with the model= parameter of the snd-hda-intel module.

In the case of my laptop the best get was " options snd-hda-intel model=lenovo-sky "

Other may want to look into other options or perhaps try one of these:

/etc/modprode.d/hda-intel.conf
Code:
# Only use 1
#options snd-hda-intel model=3stack 
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch 
#options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch-intel

Or you can use this script to gather info about your soundcard and find a models= option that better suits your actual hardware.

~/alsa-models.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash

## Changed this if needed
EDITOR=gedit

mkdir ~/tmp-alsa-info
cd ~/tmp-alsa-info
wget -q http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O ./alsa-info.sh
chmod +x ./alsa-info.sh
./alsa-info.sh --no-upload --output ./alsa-info.txt
cat  /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz  |gunzip >./HD-Audio-Models.txt
$EDITOR ./alsa-info.txt ./HD-Audio-Models.txt
cd ~
sleep 2
rm -rfd ~/tmp-alsa-info

chmod +x ~/alsa-models.sh
~/alsa-models.sh


This will gather the info and open the needed documents.
__________________
RA/Syrtis Hunter LVL50: Elusis
RA/Syrtis Barba LVL50: Artemisia
RA/Syrtis Conju Lvl45: Nellas Miriel

Last edited by onemyndseye; 10-31-2009 at 02:50 AM.
onemyndseye no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:00 PM   #22
adict
Apprentice
 
adict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 53
adict is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surak View Post
I've been noticing some nasty problems in with openal+pulseaudio in Karmic. (game freezes, and i can hear the music badly distorted). Anyone else having similar issues?
yep same here. Three people from my clan have no sound at all. By me the sound is nasty and at the end the game freezes. We all use Ubuntu 9.10. 64-bit.
__________________
The Dark Legion shall lead the way to the Lake of the Ancients as the burning Eferias will light the way
http://www.thedarklegion.org
adict no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:02 PM   #23
Dupa_z_Zasady
Banned
 
Dupa_z_Zasady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 489
Dupa_z_Zasady is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

According to this they forced people to use broken PulseAudio. Nice.
My advice for those that haven't yet upgraded is not to do so. God, compared to Ubuntu guys, NGD people are real angels. Additionaly i have WiFi issues, and i guess i'll switch back to Debian on my desktop ASAP.

Edit: Of course i have those audio problems myself.

Last edited by Dupa_z_Zasady; 11-01-2009 at 09:23 PM.
Dupa_z_Zasady no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 04:20 PM   #24
DkySven
Marquis
 
DkySven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
DkySven has a spectacular aura aboutDkySven has a spectacular aura about
Default

On Arch Linux 64 bit I have no problem with sound, so it seems the problems do come from Ubuntu 9.10, and because of that PulseAudio.
__________________
Dky Sven, level 54 knight (Ra) Valhalla
Dky the Goat, level 35 conjurer(Ra)
Dky Sven, level 51 knight(Horus) Something
DkySven no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 04:49 PM   #25
kamax
Master
 
kamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: france
Posts: 397
kamax is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DkySven View Post
On Arch Linux 64 bit I have no problem with sound, so it seems the problems do come from Ubuntu 9.10, and because of that PulseAudio.
I think it's more the version of the packages installed because i have problem on a gentoo too.
kamax no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:58 PM   #26
Blastermaster77
Pledge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Blastermaster77 is on a distinguished road
Default Heres my fix to audio problem

Ok people what I did was this:

In the terminal:

sudo gedit /etc/openal/alsoft.conf

change the divice line form Alasa backend stuff to this:

## ALSA backend stuff
##
[alsa]

## device:
# Sets the device name for the default playback device.
device = alsa


remember to un coment it.

Hope this helps.
Blastermaster77 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:18 PM   #27
kamax
Master
 
kamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: france
Posts: 397
kamax is on a distinguished road
Default

I think with this setup your sound card will be busy for other sound program using pulseaudio, except if your other program are configured to use alsa too.
kamax no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:07 PM   #28
Blastermaster77
Pledge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Blastermaster77 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kamax View Post
I think with this setup your sound card will be busy for other sound program using pulseaudio, except if your other program are configured to use alsa too.
Nop I tested it with 3 sound app at the same time and it works fine.
Blastermaster77 no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:11 PM   #29
Pakos
Master
 
Pakos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 259
Pakos is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surak View Post
I've been noticing some nasty problems in with openal+pulseaudio in Karmic. (game freezes, and i can hear the music badly distorted). Anyone else having similar issues?
yup me too ;P
Pakos no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 04:29 PM   #30
TheBold
Pledge
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
TheBold is on a distinguished road
Default

I've found that the sound issue is not only on the 64 bit. From a fresh install on 32 still get the issue, I simply updated Alsa to the latest, though i know its not an issue with 1.1.20, it's certainly an issue.

of course, I was hoping not to have to use a processor workaround for the high CPU usage...but that's a Regnum issue.

a simply ALSA update works, for those on Ubuntu, theres an upgrade script to the latest alsa on the forum.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6589810
TheBold no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2024 © All rights reserved